I’m BACK!

on

Hey slackers!

It’s been a few years, but the C Students Guide blog is back! I’ve been busy with other projects, but everywhere I went in the world I met students who were worried about their grades, worried about student debt, wondering how they were going to pay their way through college. I kept meeting people, like me, who were never National Honor Society students with a 4.0 GPA, but managed to score the scholarships they needed to pay their way through college. And I kept meeting C-students, like you, who were sure they didn’t have even a glimmer of a chance of getting their hands on that big scholarship money. They kept asking me: “How did YOU manage it!?”

I was an average student in high school, with a GPA that fluctuated between 2.1 and 2.7, and I still succeeded in paying my way through college with scholarships and grant awards. I got fed that same line you’ve probably heard time and again: “If you don’t pull those grades up, you can forget about a university degree. You’ll be doomed to spend your days at a community college and your nights flipping burger patties at McDonalds!” I took the words of these naysayers to heart, and I tried my very hardest to raise my GPA to a 3.0—the bare minimum everyone told me I had to maintain if I didn’t want to hear the scholarship committee members laugh in my face, but it just wasn’t happening for me. It seemed that every time I started to crack a book, the phone would ring and one of my friends would start telling me something that was SO much more interesting than analyzing the events leading up to the War of 1812.

Lucky for you (and, of course, for me), I walked away from the people telling me I could never win a scholarship with my fists clenched and my mind screaming, “Screw them!” Being a C-student doesn’t mean that you are dumb, and it doesn’t mean that you can’t succeed in life. It means that you are a creative student, a cool student, and that you are complicated and courageous. Sure your grades suck and your parents are broke, but don’t use those minor obstacles as an excuse to not pursue your dreams. My story makes me an ambassador of hope for those out there who are not quite “college material,” but choose to reject such a life-crippling label. I’m living proof that C-students can find scholarship success! If I could win $120,000 in free money for college, then so can you!

The trick is digging a little bit deeper and asking yourself, “Why can’t I go to college?” If your grades aren‘t your strongest asset, then you’ll have to find other ways to market yourself to scholarship committees. There are many scholarships out there that don’t require—or even expect—applicants to have a stellar academic record. Between the outrageous Duck Tape scholarships, the sports scholarships for bench-warmers, and even the (you’ve gotta’ be kidding me) write-an-essay-about-bees types of scholarships, you are sure to find something that will compliment with your personal strengths and put money right into your pocket!

So I’m back to tell you that not only can it can be done, but that YOU can do it. And I’m going to keep coming back with real-world advice and practical tips so that you can find the scholarships that are out there waiting for you. So check back regularly for new posts with the low-down on how you can score the scholarships you need to make your dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

