Two Free Samples

In my last post, Ready Your Pitch, I promised some examples of how to write a letter requesting a scholarship application from an organization. True to my word, here are two different samples of Application Request Letters. The first version is more formal and the second is more creative. While an application request is not a “contest” you can win or lose, it doesn’t hurt to put your most memorable foot forward. You never know who will read your letter, or how influential this person may be!

***

SAMPLE APPLICATION REQUEST LETTER #1

(Date)

(Scholarship Coordinator)

(Name of Scholarship)

(Address of Organization)

(City, State Zip)

Dear Scholarship Coordinator:

I recently learned about the (scholarship/internship/fellowship) offered by your organization. I believe I would make an ideal candidate, because… (Enter a few credible details).

Please send me an application and any other information pertaining to the (scholarship). I have enclosed a self-addressed stamped envelope for your convenience. Thank you for your assistance. I look forward to receiving the requested paperwork.

Sincerely,

(Your signature)

***

SAMPLE APPLICATION REQUEST LETTER #2

(Date)

(Scholarship Coordinator)

(Name of Scholarship)

(Address of Organization)

(City, State Zip)

Dear Scholarship Chairperson,

“If you chase after goals, but forget your heart, you’ll be doing it for someone else.” (Acura)

Rather than play hide and go seek with my priorities, I am doggedly pursuing my goals—nonstop—with my heart in every inch of what I do. This is the reason why I am writing to you.

My name is Felecia Hatcher. I am a college-bound senior at Community High School. I am on a quest for financial assistance. Please send me an application as well as an information packet about your scholarship program. With your help, I can reach my highest potential.

Respectfully Yours,

Felecia Hatcher (Signature)

(Mailing address)

Leave a Reply

